Overview of the monetary history of Belgium

Coins appeared in Asia Minor in the 6th century BC [1] and their use expanded rapidly throughout the entire Greek and Persian civilisation [2] before being adopted by the Romans. Their use spread to the Celtic people of Central and Western Europe in the 3rd and 2nd centuries BC through commercial contacts and the massive recruitment of Celtic mercenaries by the Greek cities.  The people of Central Europe imitated the Greek coins of Macedonia and Thrace, following the Danube trade route. The people of Gaul, and later Brittany, developed their own coinage, at first inspired by Greek and Roman coins, but very soon the coins were issued in their own typical artistic style.

[1]

[2]

In the territories of Ancient Belgium, the most important coinages were those of the Ambiani, Nervii [3], Treviri and Bellovaci, composed of gold staters, but also of silver coins (mainly quinarii) and bronzes. The latter coins were struck or cast, the cast ones being called potins. Thus, at the time of the Roman conquest, Gaul had at its disposal a complex and well developed monetary system. Furthermore the Celts preserved their particular coinage for decades after the conquest of Gaul. It was only from the reign of Nero (54-68) that the coins of the Roman emperors, especially those struck in Lyon, supplanted the Celtic coins that were circulating at that time. From then on, and for several centuries, the lands that make up modern Belgium were under  Roman domination and influence, which is shown by the many discoveries of Roman coins in our country.

[3]

[4]

Roman coinage was also trimetallic : the coins in circulation were the aureus in gold [4], the denarius in silver, the sestertius and its subdivisions (dupondius, as, semis, quadrans) in bronze. An aureus was valued at 25 denarii or 100 sestertii. This simple system was maintained from the 1st up to the 3rd century, but the big economic and political crisis in the 3rd century put an end to it. The many usurpations and invasions which followed afterwards, were the reason for a reform in depth of the empire under Diocletian (284-305), setting up the Tetrarchy, and later under Constantine I (307-337). Among the numerous economic reforms, the one related to money had an important impact since it influenced the economic and monetary history of Europe for many centuries. In that period the gold solidus (4,53 g) was introduced (which became in French sou and is still used nowadays in the current language), struck at 72 to the Roman pound (326 g) and of pure gold. It was issued, without any debasement or loss of weight, until the 8th century in Western Europe and up to the 11th century in the Byzantine empire. Treves (or Trier), very well known in the Roman world, was a very important mint in that period and produced the bulk of the circulating coins in our lands. It was closed in the 5th century as the result of the invasions of the barbarian peoples, which finally caused the fall of the Western Roman Empire and the end of monetary issues.

[5]

[6]

At first the barbarian kings did not dare to strike coins in their own name. As a first step they imitated the coins of the last Roman emperors, and later those of the Byzantine emperors. Very soon bronze and silver coins completely disappeared from circulation. Only a small gold coin continued to be struck, the tremissis or one third of a solidus [5]. It was only in the 2nd half of the 7th century that the silver denarius was struck again in the Merovingian kingdom. It was then a small silver coin in a barbarian style. The Carolingians continued striking them but then Charlemagne deeply reformed the coinage of his empire. After the re-organisation of the system of weights and measures, by creating the Carolingian pound (408 g), he fixed the mass of the denier at 240 to the pound (1,70 g), 12 deniers valued at one shilling, 20 shillings valued at one pound. This system of account was used in Europe till the end of the Old Regime and until recently in Great Britain. The appearance of the Carolingian denarius also underwent a major transformation. The small rough silver coin became a larger and thinner coin, bearing the name of the sovereign on the obverse and the name of the mint on the reverse [6]. The Christian cross became the dominant symbol often associated with the royal monogram. The Carolingian denarius was the only coin struck in Western Europe during the high medieval period.

From the 10th century, after the decline of the Carolingian kingdoms and the great decentralisation of power, the right to mint money, likes several other royal rights, was progressively grabbed by the new feudal lords. A great number of aristocrats, dukes, bishops and even abbeys, were conceded the right to strike their own coins. In our lands, the first feudal lord to strike coins in his name was the mighty count of Flanders, at the end of the 10th century, followed, from the beginning of the 11th century, by the counts of Louvain and the bishops of Liège. All the great feudal lords soon had their own mint. The silver denier was still the only coin struck, but a large variety of types existed, each lord choosing his own. In the 12th-13th centuries, the mass of the small denier of Flanders [7] was less than half a gram, while the alloy of the French deniers sometimes reached only 0.250.

[7]

[8]

The economic growth of the 12th-13th centuries and the development of cities had evident consequences on the monetary circulation. The devaluated denier was no longer sufficient for the increasing transactions. In 1266 the French king Louis IX created a new silver coin, the gros tournois which became very popular and was rapidly imitated by numerous feudal lords in our lands [8]. Gold coins were struck again. They re-appeared in Italy, in the middle of the 13th century in Florence (where the florin was struck), and in Genoa and Venice (where the ducat was struck). The king of France issued later the gold ecu. From 1330, the princes in the Netherlands started to strike their own gold coins, imitating the florins of Florence and the ecus in France. Later on they struck a large number of coins in gold, silver and billon (a silver-copper alloy), imitating several types of foreign coins or creating their own national types. The artistic quality of the coinage of that period is remarkable [9].

[9]

The monetary circulation became particularly complex because many different coins were in circulation. It is only under the governement of the dukes of Burgundy that was brought a remedy to this situation. Having unified the Netherlands under his authority Philip le Bon decided in 1433 to introduce a common coinage in order to replace the different feudal coinages which hampered the economic rise and the commercial transactions. From that period on, our countries had no more than one coinage, with a few exceptions, the main one being the bishopric of Liège that maintained its independance until 1792.

[10]

The coinage of the dukes of Burgundy are typical of the end of the Middle Ages. The coins are struck on thin blanks, in a very nice late gothic style. The feudal arms and emblems occupy the most important place [10]. Their gold coins are particularly spectacular and represent a large variety of types.

With the Renaissance, the art of portrait reappeared on coins and medals. Also, the discovery of rich silver mines in Central Europe and in the New World caused important changes in the production of silver coins. The medieval coins, thin and light, were replaced by heavier coins struck on thicker blanks. In the south of the Netherlands, the first coin of that type was the florin in silver of Charles V, named « florin Karolus », struck ca. 1540 [11]. But the gold coins issued by Charles V (real, florin and ecu) remained of medieval tradition. During the reign of Philip II, the portrait of the king of Spain appeared on his coins.

[11]

This period is particularly interesting due to the troubles in the Netherlands which were in revolt against Spanish rule. The government was exercised by the States General which ordered the issue of new coins, still with the name and titles of Philip II, though of a modified type. When the Spanish army started to reconquer the rebel territories, several important towns were successively besieged (Maastricht, Brussels, Antwerp, Tournay…), which were obliged to issue necessity coins to meet their needs. After the reign of Philip II, silver coins kept the same characteristics up to the end of the 18th century: a portrait on the obverse and the arms on the reverse. The large silver coin (the ecu or daalder under Philip II and, afterwards, the ducaton and patagon) became the basis of a system that included many subdivisions in silver, billon and copper. The main gold coin of that period was the double sovereign, introduced during the reign of the archdukes Albert and Isabella, which continued to be struck until the end of Austrian rule. Silver coins were exceptionally struck on thicker blanks of double, triple and even quadruple weight, in order to be offered as presents to dignitaries. These coins are called « piéforts » [12]. The artistic quality of the portraits on the coins of the 17th century is absolutely remarkable.

[12]

An important innovation took place during the reign of Charles II (1665-1700). Until then all the coins were hammered according to the old privileges that were granted to the minters, forbidding the use of machines for striking coins. That prohibition was abolished at the end of the 17th century, resulting in the production of much more regular coins. The die-cutting was entrusted to very talented engravers, such as the Roettiers in the late 17th and the early 18th century, or Théodore van Berckel at the end of the 18th century. We owe some of the finest coins of that period to them.

[13]

The revolution of 1790 against the rule of Joseph II also had effects on the coinage. Anxious to proclaim their independence, the United Belgian States issued new gold and silver coins with the Belgian lion as the new type [13]. We touch there one of the fundamental aspects of the numismatics of the Old Regime. In times when communications were bad and a large majority of the population had received no education, coins were a fantastic vehicle of propaganda. They circulated everywhere and were used in large numbers. The choices of the represented types were therefore very important.

[14]

[15]

The French occupation, at the end of the 18th and early in the 19th century, marked the end of the Old Regime in our lands. No coins were struck during that period. It is only after the kingdom of the Netherlands was established that the mint of Brussels was reopened. When Belgium became independent in 1831, the authorities decided to strike money according to the French system and made the franc, created at the French Revolution, its national coin unit. Belgium adhered to the Latin Union, which included, among others, France, Italy and Spain. The members of this union had a common monetary system which was maintained throughout the 19th century. One French or Belgian franc was equivalent to one lira or one peseta. In other words, it was the euro before its birth ! The principal coins were the 5 francs in silver [14] and the 20 francs in gold [15]. The First World War brought an end to the production of gold coins (the last Belgian gold coin is the 20 francs 1914). After the war, inflation and different economic crises made it impossible to maintain a coinage with precious metals. In the years 1920-1930 an abundant coinage in nickel was introduced, but under Leopold III that was abandoned too.

Illustrations

[1] Kingdom of Lydia, stater, ca. 505-500 BC, Sardes.
[2] Kings of Macedon, Alexander III the Great (336-323), tetradrachm.
[3] Northern Gaul, Nervii, stater, 58-57 BC.
[4] Tiberius (14-37), aureus, 36-37, Lugdunum (Lyon).
[5] Merovingians, tremissis, ca. 640, Huy.
[6] Carolingians, Charles the Bald (840-877), denier, 864-877, Bruges.
[7] Flanders, petit denier, 1255-1259, Ghent.
[8] Brabant, Jean III (1312-1355), gros au châtel brabançon, May 1337, Antwerp.
[9] Flanders, Louis of Male (1346-1384), vieil heaume d’or, 1367-1369, Ghent.
[10] Flanders, Philip the Handsome (1482-1506), toison d’or, Bruges.
[11] Brabant, Charles V (1506-1555), silver florin Karolus, Antwerp.
[12] Brabant, Albert and Isabella (1598-1621), ducaton 1618, Antwerp. Double weight.
[13] Brabant, United Belgian States, florin, 1790, Brussels.
[14] Belgium, Leopold I (1831-1865), 5 francs 1832.
[15] Belgium, Leopold II (1865-1909), 20 francs 1876.

Coins, medals, gold, silver, expertise, public auctions

Opening hours

Monday-Friday: 9am-1pm & 1.45pm-5.30pm (appointments only).

Apercu de l’histoire monétaire de la Belgique

La monnaie apparut en Asie Mineure au 6e siècle avant notre ère [1] et son usage se répandit ensuite rapidement dans l’ensemble des civilisations grecque et perse [2], avant d’être adoptée par les Romains. Par les contacts commerciaux et le recrutement massif de mercenaires celtes par les cités grecques, son usage se propagea aux peuples celtiques d’Europe centrale et occidentale aux 3e et 2e siècles avant notre ère. Les peuples d’Europe centrale imitèrent les monnaies grecques de Macédoine et de Thrace, suivant la voie économique du Danube. Les peuples de Gaule, puis de Bretagne, développèrent un monnayage propre, dans un premier temps inspiré des monnaies grecques et romaines mais qui laissa très vite la part belle à la stylisation typique de leur art.

[1]

[2]

Dans les territoires de l’ancienne Belgique, les monnayages les plus importants furent ceux des Ambiens, des Nerviens [3], des Trévires et des Bellovaques. Ces monnayages étaient constitués de statères d’or mais aussi de monnaies d’argent (principalement des quinaires) et de bronze. Ces dernières pouvaient être frappées ou coulées ; dans ce dernier cas, on les appelle potins. La Gaule disposait ainsi d’un système monétaire complexe et évolué au moment de la conquête romaine. Les peuples celtes conservèrent d’ailleurs leurs monnayages particuliers plusieurs décennies après la conquête des Gaules. Ce n’est qu’à partir du règne de Néron (54-68) que les monnaies des empereurs romains, frappées notamment à Lyon, supplantèrent les monnaies celtes dans la circulation. Nos régions connaîtront alors pour plusieurs siècles la domination et l’influence romaines, comme le prouvent les multiples trouvailles de monnaies romaines dans notre pays.

[3]

[4]

Le monnayage romain était trimétallique : les pièces en circulation étaient l’aureus en or [4], le denier en argent, le sesterce et ses subdivisions en bronze (dupondius, as, semis, quadrans). Un aureus valait 25 deniers et 100 sesterces, un denier valait quatre sesterces. Ce système simple fut maintenu du 1er au 3e siècle mais la grande crise économique et politique du 3e siècle y mit fin. Les usurpations et les invasions se succédèrent, provoquant une réforme en profondeur de l’empire sous Dioclétien (284-305), qui instaura la tétrarchie, puis sous Constantin Ier (307-337). Parmi leurs nombreuses réformes économiques, celle de la monnaie eut une grande importance puisqu’elle influença l’histoire économique et monétaire de l’Europe pour plusieurs siècles. C’est alors qu’apparut le solidus en or (devenu en français le sou, terme encore utilisé de nos jours dans le langage courant), taillé 72 à la livre romaine (4,53 g) et d’or pur. Il fut frappé sans altération de poids ou de titre jusqu’au 8e siècle en Europe occidentale et jusqu’au 11e siècle dans l’empire byzantin. À cette époque circulaient principalement dans nos régions les monnaies frappées dans l’atelier de Trèves, l’un des plus importants du monde romain. Il fut fermé au 5e siècle, suite aux invasions des peuples barbares qui provoquèrent la chute de l’empire romain d’Occident et la fin de ses émissions monétaires.

[5]

[6]

Les rois barbares n’osèrent pas immédiatement frapper monnaie en leur nom. Ils imitèrent dans un premier temps les monnaies des derniers empereurs romains puis des empereurs byzantins. Très rapidement, les monnaies de bronze et d’argent disparurent complètement de la circulation. Seul l’or était encore monnayé, sous la forme d’une petite pièce, le tremissis ou tiers de solidus [5]. Ce n’est que dans la 2e moitié du 7e siècle que le denier d’argent fut à nouveau frappé dans le royaume mérovingien. Il s’agissait alors d’une petite pièce d’argent au style barbarisé. Les Carolingiens poursuivirent son émission mais Charlemagne réforma en profondeur le monnayage de son empire. Ayant réorganisé le système des poids et des mesures en créant la livre carolingienne (408 g), il fixa la masse du denier au 240e de la livre (1,70 g). 12 deniers valaient un sou, 20 sous valaient une livre. Ce système de compte perdura en Europe jusqu’à la fin de l’Ancien Régime (et jusqu’il y a peu en Grande-Bretagne). L’aspect du denier carolingien subit aussi une grande transformation. La petite pièce grossière d’argent devint une monnaie plus large, plus fine, portant le nom du souverain au droit et celui de l’atelier au revers [6]. La croix chrétienne y occupait aussi la place prépondérante, souvent associée au monogramme royal. Le denier carolingien fut la seule monnaie de l’Europe occidentale pendant le haut Moyen Age.

À partir du début du 10e siècle, suite au déclin des royaumes carolingiens et à la décentralisation de l’Etat, le droit de battre monnaie, comme plusieurs autres droits régaliens, fut progressivement accaparé par les nouveaux seigneurs. De nombreux comtes, ducs, évêques et mêmes des abbayes se virent concéder le droit de frapper leur monnaie. Dans nos régions, le premier seigneur féodal qui frappa monnaie à son nom fut le puissant comte de Flandre, à la fin du 10e siècle. Les comtes de Louvain et les évêques de Liège les imitèrent dès le début du 11e siècle. Tous les grands seigneurs féodaux eurent bientôt leur atelier monétaire. Le denier d’argent était toujours la seule monnaie frappée, mais il y en eut une très grande variété de types, chaque seigneur choisissant le sien. De plus, le denier subit une lente érosion de sa masse et de son titre. Ainsi, aux 12e-13e siècles, les petits deniers de Flandre [7] pèsent moins d’un demi-gramme tandis que les deniers français titrent parfois seulement à 0,250.

[7]

[8]

L’essor économique des 12e-13e siècles et le développement des villes eurent évidemment des conséquences sur la circulation monétaire. Le denier dévalué ne pouvait plus satisfaire aux échanges à l’importance sans cesse croissante. En 1266, Saint Louis créa une nouvelle monnaie d’argent, le gros tournois, qui connut immédiatement un grand succès et fut rapidement imité par de nombreux seigneurs féodaux de nos régions [8]. La frappe de la monnaie d’or fut aussi reprise. Elle réapparut en Italie au milieu du 13e siècle, à Florence (où l’on frappait le florin), à Gênes, puis à Venise (où l’on frappait le ducat). Le roi de France frappa ensuite des écus d’or. À partir de 1330, les princes des Pays-Bas frappèrent à leur tour des monnaies d’or, imitant les florins de Florence et les écus de France. Ils firent ensuite frapper de nombreuses monnaies d’or, d’argent et de billon (alliage d’argent et de cuivre) aux types variés, imitant les monnaies étrangères ou créant des types nationaux. La qualité artistique des monnaies de cette époque est remarquable [9].

[9]

La circulation monétaire devint particulièrement complexe tant il y avait de monnaies différentes en circulation. Ce n’est que sous le gouvernement des ducs de Bourgogne que l’on y remédia. Ayant unifié les Pays-Bas sous son autorité, Philippe le Bon décida en 1433 de les doter d’un monnayage commun destiné à remplacer les différents monnayages féodaux qui entravaient l’essor économique et les transactions commerciales. À partir de cette époque, nos régions n’eurent donc plus qu’un seul monnayage avec quelques exceptions, la principale étant l’évêché de Liège qui conserva son indépendance jusqu’en 1792.

[10]

Les monnaies des ducs de Bourgogne sont typiques de la fin du Moyen Age. Elles sont frappées sur des flans minces, dans un très beau style gothique tardif. Les armoiries et les emblèmes féodaux y occupent la place la plus importante [10]. Leurs monnaies d’or sont particulièrement spectaculaires et présentent une grande variété de types.

À partir de la Renaissance, l’art du portrait refit son apparition sur les monnaies et les médailles. De plus, la découverte d’abondantes mines d’argent en Europe centrale et dans le Nouveau Monde provoqua de grands changements dans la frappe des monnaies d’argent. Les pièces médiévales, minces et légères, furent remplacées par de lourdes monnaies, frappées sur des flans plus épais. Dans les Pays-Bas méridionaux, la première monnaie de ce type fut le florin d’argent de Charles Quint, dit « florin Carolus », frappé vers 1540 [11]. Les monnaies d’or de Charles Quint (réal, florin et écu d’or) restent par contre de tradition médiévale. Il faut attendre le règne de Philippe II pour voir le portrait du roi d’Espagne y figurer.

[11]

La numismatique du règne de Philippe II est particulièrement intéressante en raison des troubles que connurent alors nos régions. Les Pays-Bas se soulevèrent contre le régime espagnol et le gouvernement fut exercé par les Etats Généraux qui ordonnèrent la frappe de nouvelles monnaies au titre de Philippe II mais au type modifié. Lorsque l’armée espagnole entama la reconquête des territoires révoltés, elle assiégea successivement plusieurs grandes villes (Maastricht, Bruxelles, Tournai, Anvers…) qui se virent obligées d’émettre des monnaies de nécessité pour assurer leurs besoins en numéraire. Après le règne de Philippe II, les monnaies d’argent gardent les mêmes caractéristiques jusqu’à la fin du 18e siècle : portrait au droit et armoiries au revers, la grande monnaie d’argent (écu ou daldre sous Philippe II, ducaton et patagon ensuite) étant la base du système comportant de nombreuses subdivisions en argent, en billon et en cuivre. La principale monnaie d’or de cette époque est le double souverain, introduit sous le règne des archiducs Albert et Isabelle et frappé jusqu’à la fin du régime autrichien. À titre exceptionnel, des monnaies d’argent étaient aussi frappées sur des flans plus épais, de poids double, triple, voire quadruple afin d’être offertes à des dignitaires. Ces pièces sont appelées piéforts [12]. La qualité artistique des portraits du 17e siècle est absolument remarquable.

[12]

Une innovation importante eut lieu sous le règne de Charles II (1665-1700). Toutes les monnaies étaient jusqu’alors frappées au marteau en raison d’anciens privilèges accordés aux monnayeurs qui interdisaient l’emploi de machines (balanciers) pour la frappe. Cette interdiction fut levée à la fin du 17e siècle, ce qui engendra la production de monnaies beaucoup plus régulières. La gravure des coins fut confiée à des graveurs de grand talent, comme les Roettiers à la fin du 17e et au début du 18e siècle ou Théodore van Berckel à la fin du 18e siècle. Nous leur devons quelques unes des plus belles monnaies de cette époque.

[13]

La révolution brabançonne de 1790 contre le régime de Joseph II eut elle aussi des conséquences sur la frappe des monnaies. Soucieux de proclamer leur indépendance, les Etats-Belgiques-Unis s’empressèrent de faire frapper de nouvelles monnaies d’or et d’argent au type du lion belge [13]. Nous touchons là à l’un des aspects fondamentaux de la numismatique d’Ancien Régime. À une époque où les communications étaient mauvaises, où la grande majorité des populations étaient analphabètes, les monnaies étaient un fantastique vecteur de propagande. Elles circulaient et étaient manipulées par le plus grand nombre. Le choix des types qui y étaient représentés était dès lors très important.

[14]

[15]

L’occupation française de la fin du 18e siècle et du début du 19e siècle marqua la fin de l’Ancien Régime dans nos régions. Aucune monnaie n’y fut frappée pendant cette période. Ce n’est que sous le royaume des Pays-Bas que l’atelier de Bruxelles fut rouvert. Après l’indépendance de la Belgique, les autorités décidèrent de frapper monnaie dans le système français et adoptèrent le franc, créé à la Révolution française, comme monnaie nationale. La Belgique adhéra à l’Union Latine, qui regroupait notamment la France, l’Italie et l’Espagne. Les pays membres de cette union avaient un système monétaire commun qui fut maintenu durant le 19e siècle. Un franc français ou belge valait une lire ou une peseta. En quelque sorte, c’était l’Euro avant la lettre. Les principales monnaies étaient la pièce de 5 francs en argent [14] et la pièce de 20 francs en or ou Napoléon [15]. L’émission des monnaies d’or cessa en raison de la première guerre mondiale (la dernière pièce belge en or est la 20 francs de 1914). Après la guerre, l’inflation et les différentes crises économiques ne permirent pas de maintenir un monnayage de métaux nobles. On introduisit dans les années 1920-1930 un abondant monnayage de nickel qui fut abandonné sous Léopold III.

Illustrations

[1] Royaume de Lydie, statère d’or, vers 505-500 av. J.-C., Sardes.
[2] Royaume de Macédoine, Alexandre III le Grand (336-323), tétradrachme.
[3] Gaule Belgique, Nerviens, statère à l’epsilon, 58-57 av. J.-C.
[4] Tibère (14-37), aureus, 36-37, Lyon.
[5] Mérovingiens, tremissis, vers 640, Huy.
[6] Carolingiens, Charles le Chauve (840-877), denier, 864-877, Bruges.
[7] Flandre, petit denier, 1255-1259, Gand.
[8] Brabant, Jean III (1312-1355), gros au châtel brabançon, mai 1337, Anvers.
[9] Flandre, Louis de Male (1346-1384), vieil heaume d’or, 1367-1369, Gand.
[10] Flandre, Philippe le Beau (1482-1506), toison d’or, Bruges.
[11] Brabant, Charles Quint (1506-1555), florin Karolus d’argent, Anvers.
[12] Brabant, Albert et Isabelle (1598-1621), ducaton 1618, Anvers. Piéfort de poids double.
[13] Brabant, Etats-Belgiques-Unis, florin, 1790, Bruxelles.
[14] Royaume de Belgique, Léopold Ier (1831-1865), 5 francs 1832.
[15] Royaume de Belgique, Léopold II (1865-1909), 20 francs 1876.

Monnaies, médailles, or, argent, expertise, vente publique

Heures d'ouverture

Lundi-Vendredi : 09h-13h & 13h45–17h30 (sur rendez-vous).